Polling for NA-221 Tharparkar today as contest expected between PPP, PTI

THARPARKAR: Polling is scheduled on National Assembly seat, NA-221 Tharparkar on Sunday (today) as the contest is expected between the Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) and Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) candidates in the constituency, ARY NEWS reported.

The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) has established 318 polling stations for the by-poll and declared 13 of them as sensitive while 95 as highly sensitive.  Overall 281,900 voters will cast their vote in the NA-221 Tharparkar.

The contest in the constituency is expected between PPP candidate Mir Ali Shah Jeelani and PTI candidate Nizamuddin Rahimoon.

The District Returning Officer (DRO) in the constituency said that police and Rangers personnel will provide security during the polling process, which will begin at 8:00 am and culminate at 5:00 pm.

The local administration has facilitated the travel of polling staff to reach their respective polling stations as 4,000 cops have been deployed in the constituency for maintaining the law and order situation.

Sindh Rangers would also be deployed at sensitive and highly sensitive polling stations along with the installation of 200 CCTV cameras at various stations.

It is pertinent to mention here that the NA-221 became vacant after Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) MNA Pir Noor Muhammad Jeelani lost his life due to coronavirus in December 2020.

Born on September 15, 1951, Jeelani was a senior politician and was elected as MNA from Sindh’s constituency of NA-221-Chachro in Tharparkar in the 2018 general elections by beating the current Foreign  Minister Shah Mehmood Qureshi.

Pir Noor Muhammad Jeelani previously was a member of the National Assembly from June 2013 to May 2018.

The post Polling for NA-221 Tharparkar today as contest expected between PPP, PTI appeared first on ARY NEWS.

(This story has been published from ARY News feed, without modifications to the text)