Australia to host Ashes 2021-22, schedule confirmed

MANCHESTER: Australia will host The Ashes from December 8, 2021, to February 19, 2022, the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) and Cricket Australia (CA) confirmed on Wednesday. 

The first Men’s Ashes Test will begin at Brisbane’s Gabba from 8-12 December ahead of a day-night Test at the Adelaide Oval from 16-20 December. The traditional Boxing Day and New Year’s Tests will be played at the Melbourne Cricket Ground (26-30 December) and Sydney Cricket Ground (5-9 January) respectively, with the final Test scheduled for Perth’s Optus Stadium (14-18 January).

On the other hand, women’s Ashes have also been confirmed by the two boards. The multi-format Women’s Ashes series will begin at Manuka Oval, Canberra, with the Women’s Ashes Test match from 27-30 January.

The white-ball matches, which combine with the Test match to form the multi-format series, kick off with three T20Is, to be played at the North Sydney Oval, Sydney (4 and 6 February) and the Adelaide Oval (10 February).

The multi-format series concludes with three ODIs at Adelaide Oval (13 February) and the Junction Oval in Melbourne (16 and 19 February).

Men’s Ashes schedule

1st Test: 8-12 December – Gabba, Brisbane

2nd Test: 16-20 December – Adelaide Oval, Adelaide (Day/night)

3rd Test: 26-30 December – MCG, Melbourne

4th Test: 5-9 January – SCG, Sydney

5th Test: 14-18 January – Optus Stadium, Perth

Women’s Ashes Schedule – 2022

Test: 27-30 January – Manuka Oval, Canberra

1st T20I: 4 February – North Sydney Oval, Sydney

2nd T20I: 6 February – North Sydney Oval, Sydney

3rd T20I: 10 February – Adelaide Oval, Adelaide

1st ODI: 13 February – Adelaide Oval, Adelaide

2nd ODI: 16 February – Junction Oval, Melbourne

3rd ODI: 19 February – Junction Oval, Melbourne

READ: No international comeback for retired AB de Villiers, CSA confirms

(This story has been published from ARY Sports rss feed, without modifications to the text)