10 Windies players decide not to tour Bangladesh due to COVID-19 related fears

Karachi: At least 10 players of the West Indies cricket team, including skipper Jason Holder has declined to tour Bangladesh because of ‘COVID-19 related concerns’.

Holder, Kieron Pollard, Darren Bravo, Shamarh Brooks, Roston Chase, Sheldon Cottrell, Evin Lewis, Shai Hope, Shimron Hetmyer and Nicholas Pooran are the players not available for the tour.

On the other hand, Fabian Allen and Shane Dowrich are also unavailable for personal reasons.

Cricket West Indies (CWI) announced on Wednesday that its Covid-19 policy allows any player to opt out of selection for an overseas tour, only when based on the player’s own safety fears or concerns. Such decisions will not impact their consideration for future selection.

The Test squad will be led by the experienced Kraigg Brathwaite, with Jermaine Blackwood as vice-captain. Former West Indies A team captain Jason Mohammed will lead the ODI team with Sunil Ambris as vice-captain.

The West Indies touring party is due to arrive in Dhaka on January 10 and the series will run until February 15 which included three ODIs and two Tests.

West Indies Test squad

Kraigg Brathwaite (capt), Jermaine Blackwood, Nkrumah Bonner, John Campbell, Rahkeem Cornwall, Joshua Da Silva, Shannon Gabriel, Kavem Hodge, Alzarri Joseph, Kyle Mayers, Shayne Moseley, Veerasammy Permaul, Kemar Roach, Raymon Reifer, Jomel Warrican

West Indies ODI squad

Jason Mohammed (capt), Sunil Ambris, Nkrumah Bonner, Joshua Da Silva, Jahmar Hamilton, Chemar Holder, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Kyle Mayers, Andre McCarthy, Kjorn Ottley, Rovman Powell, Raymon Reifer, Romario Shepherd, Hayden Walsh

Read: West Indies win MCC’s Spirit of Cricket award

(This story has been published from ARY Sports rss feed, without modifications to the text)